Goof Troop

Goof_Troop_-_1993_-_Capcom_Co.,_Ltd.

For day 12 of the Game a Day Challenge I decided to return to the SNES in style by playing “Goof Troop.”  Man, was that a mistake…Well, I guess it depends on how you look at things.

The Goof Troop SNES game is actually a very fun playthough, I can’t fault it there.  Driven partly by nostalgia, partly by my love for nearly all things Disney, and mostly my appreciation for relatively simple controls and play-style, I flung myself into the world of Goofy, Max, BJ, and Pete expecting to find a great deal of enjoyment out of this pirate-fighting adventure.  And, looking back, I suppose I did.

The fault that became apparent in my quest to defeat the pirates and save my less than grateful neighbors is, once again, I underestimated the attention and skill a full run takes.  I seem to think that games from the earlier era are simpler because of the small amount of buttons, but I am proven wrong time and time again.  Goof Troop was another case where I found myself thinking:

“Oh, a SNES game made for children.  How hard can it be?”

20 min later:

“Okay, now I understand how the game works.  The rest of this will be a breeze.”

1 hour later:

“Man, I thought this game would only take an hour or 2.  I’m not even close to finished.”

GoofTroop#2

A few hours later:

(Pleas to the gaming gods) “This will be the time, I know I can beat the level if the RNG (random number generator for those of you who are less gamers, more readers) helps me out, but I’m getting NOTHING…”

Less than a minute later:

“I’M DONE!”

Okay, really it wasn’t that bad, but you get the picture.

The game itself isn’t bad.  The controls aren’t tight and there are several areas where less than precise steps will result in 1 extremely dead goof, but you can’t expect much more from a game made in the early 90’s.

As I said, the experience was great.  I had a lot of fun with it.  I would recommend those who have access give Goof Troop another go.  It’s one that can be beat in 1 sitting, but not one that is as “easy” or “childish” as you probably remember.  Also, grab a friend!  The game is multiplayer, but I, unfortunately, had to be a lone goof.

As an added bonus, this is the first game for which we’ve done a “Quickie Video Review.”  Every game from here on out (hopefully) will have a Quickie Video Review to go along with the written reviews.  Check it out!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

