The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

original

To finish off the first week of the Game a Day Challenge I went for a game which is of legendary status, and one that I’m sad to say I’d never played through before, “The Legend of Zelda:  A Link to the Past.”

“But Cam, you’re a gaming writer, how have you never played A Link to the Past?”  I’m not exactly sure how it happened, but (I’m a little ashamed to admit) the gaping void in my gaming history isn’t just Link to the Past.  In actuality, I have never completed ANY Zelda game.  I have dabbled in a few, but not having a Nintendo system growing up made me never really feel like I was missing out.  That ended today though as I painfully plowed through the game in a LONG 10-ish hours.

link-to-the-past1I’m not going into the basics of the game, anyone who knows anything about video games knows the basics behind Zelda (although I am surprised how many people still think Link’s name is actually Zelda) so lets focus on my experience playing.  The game was hard.

The main problem I had with the game is that a lot of the content, like upgrades to equipment, is hidden away from the actual plot.  Also, the upgrades are not necessary for completion but make the game WAY more manageable.  If you are like me and have never played a Zelda game before, I would highly suggest you play with a walkthrough handy, or with a friend who knows the game.  Playing this game without my chat would have been nearly impossible (big props to sc00by).

My other complaint with the experience was my own fault, I don’t think this game was made to be marathoned on the first run through.  I do not have a time limit on how long the stream goes, but I like to keep things somewhat consistant.  This is one of the games that I elected to finish off stream because I really needed a break between the hours of grinding.

So was A Link to the Past fun?  Yes.  Would I recommend experiencing the game as I had?  Definitely not.  But it was a nice look back into the adventure games of yesteryear.

Oh, by the way, I SUCK at fighting in this game…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

What do you think?

