Ben there, Dan…What?

 

Ben There Dan That 

            When it comes to off the wall, comedy based adventures, Ben There, Dan That! has certainly made a mark in the gaming world.

Reading that prior sentence might have confused you, perhaps you went back and read it again, don’t worry, take your time, I’ll wait…Ben There, Dan That! (BTDT) was suggested for review by one of our readers.  I am all for off beat indie games, but this one had me scared.  I had no reason to fear.

BTDT is a fantastic point and click adventure game, one that brought me back to my early days of gaming.  You play as Ben, a young British adventurer.  With your friend Dan (who is dead when you start the game) you are taken on a wild inter-dimensional ride where you get abducted by aliens, kill a priest with a bible, and get thrown out the back end of a cow, among many other things.  And all you wanted to do was to watch a Magnum P.I. rerun with Dan.

The art style is quirky, unlike any other game I’ve played before.  At first I thought it was going to annoy me, but I grew to love it as the game progressed.  BTDT does have original music which fits the game perfectly.  Although most aspects of the game are considered by me to be simply “adequate,” the comedy is what drives this game and made it so enjoyable.

raisingthedanForDan_smThis is nerd comedy.  Yes, those who are not a part of nerd culture will understand many of the jokes, but having a personal connection to the countless references made throughout the game made it much more enjoyable.  The jokes cover everything a 20-something man could hope for:  Tremors, Back to the Future, Star Wars, and zombie slayer Bruce Campbell.  My favorite call-back was at the very beginning of the game when MonkeyIsland is cited through a rubber chicken with a pulley being used to cross a canyon.  The jokes are well timed, and there is a variety of subjects.  If there is one thing you will remember about Ben There, Dan That! it is the wit.

Ben There, Dan That! is a fantastic game, one that our entire team here at Tie Attack enjoyed.  It is easily played through in one sitting, but will keep you engaged and laughing for several hours.

Ben There, Dan That! was created by Size Five Games.  You can get the game here at sizefivegames.com

 

What do you say, are odd ball graphics a turnoff when gaming?

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Ben there, Dan…What?

  1. […] That is all I could think while playing the offering from Size Five Games (the makers of a game we reviewed long ago called “Ben There, Dan That!”) called “Gun Monkeys.”  Now, I know that words like […]

  2. sites says:

    I don’t even know the way I finished up right here, but I assumed this
    publish was once good. I don’t understand who you’re however definitely you
    are going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

What do you think?

